Media release: SIT Subsidiary Board of Directors appointed
Publish Date: Tuesday, 17 March 2020

The New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Establishment Board (the Establishment Board) is today announcing directors for the boards of subsidiary Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs), effective from 1 April 2020.

The following people have agreed to serve as directors on the board of SIT from 1 April 2020:

  • Alison Broad – Chair
  • Murray Donald – Deputy Chair
  • Janet Copeland
  • Barry Jordan
  • Aimee Kaio (Kai Tahu, Te Arawa and Ngā Puhi)
  • Darren Rewi (Waitaha, Ngāti Māmoe, Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kahungungu ki te Wairoa)

 “The appointment of this Board of Directors is a significant step forward in the journey towards a cohesive, sustainable vocational education system,” says Establishment Board Chair Barry Jordan.

“In making these appointments we have balanced the need to ensure continuity of operation with sound local and regional relationships. We are delighted with the diversity of thought within each board, alongside the complementary skills and experience that will drive positive outcomes for their respective communities.”

The Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act requires that the initial board for each subsidiary ITP comprise at least four and no more than eight directors, of which at least half must reside within the region that the subsidiary primarily serves.

SIT Board Chair Alison Broad says, “I’m looking forward to working with my fellow Board members and management to ensure SIT thrives in the new environment. I’m very pleased with the mix of expertise and experience on the new board, along with continuity from the outgoing SIT Council and links with the national picture.

“The reforms present a clear opportunity for us to build on our strengths, deepen partnership with iwi, and work closely with our community and industry for a strong future as the Southland provider of vocational education and training.”

To further drive the shift from competition to operating as one regionally accessible network of provision, the Establishment Board has decided that one NZIST Council member will be a director on each subsidiary ITP board. Each board may also receive a ‘cross-Board appointee’. These names will be confirmed in April.

The Establishment Board based its approach to the appointment of directors on the Treasury framework used to appoint directors to the boards of Crown companies. More than 370 expressions of interest were received over the Christmas and New Year period.

All appointments to subsidiary boards are subject to ratification and approval by the NZIST Council on 1 April 2020. Members of this Council will be confirmed by the Minister of Education, Hon Chris Hipkins, before the end of March.

Alison Broad – Chair


Alison has deep family connections to Southland alongside extensive experience in education, community initiatives and governance. She has a long history with SIT, having been a Business Studies tutor at then Southland Polytechnic followed by an early period on its Council.

Alison was the inaugural CEO of Southland REAP, served as a member of the NZ Commission for UNESCO, and has had extensive involvement in innovative education initiatives for women and girls. She is a former chair of Community Trust South and current Deputy Chair of the Southland Conservation Board.

Murray Donald – Deputy Chair

Murray is a Chartered Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Directors and has wide experience in a number of significant enterprises that play an important part of the NZ economy.

Past professional governance roles include Director of Alliance group Ltd, Chairman of Alliance Group Trustee Ltd, Director of FMG Insurance, including chair of their Audit and Risk committee and Director of Farmlands Co-operative Society Ltd.

Murray is currently a Trustee of the Agri Women’s Development Trust, Chairman of Mt Linton Station Ltd and a council member of the Southern Institute of Technology. Over the past 30 years Murray and his wife Carolynn have developed and expanded an intensive lamb and beef farming operation in Southland.

Janet Copeland

Janet is the Managing Partner of Copeland Ashcroft Law, a boutique employment, immigration and health and safety law firm with offices throughout New Zealand.

With over 25 years’ experience in employment and health and safety law, Janet has extensive governance experience across a range of sectors including national sporting codes, netball franchises, tertiary education and local government for the past 23 years. She is the current President of the Southland Branch of the New Zealand Law Society.

Janet was a former Council member for the Southern Institute of Technology initially as a ministerial appointment and more recently as a community appointee. She sat on the Health and Safety Committee and Finance and Audit committee for SIT and is also an independent member and Deputy Chair of the Dunedin City Council Audit and Risk Committee. A resident of Invercargill, Janet is a passionate supporter of vocational education.

Barry Jordan

Barry is a Fellow Chartered Accountant and practices as a commercial mediator. With a background as a forensic accountant, insolvency practitioner, and commercial negotiator, he has the hands-on experience to help reach effective solutions to seemingly intractable positions.

During Barry’s career, he has led numerous high profile, yet sensitive, probity and fraud investigations as a partner at Deloitte (2008 to 2018) and McCallum Petterson (2001 to 2008).  Barry also led governance and senior management roles within these respective professional services firms. In August 2019, he was appointed Chair of the NZIST Establishment Board.

Aimee Kaio

Aimee (Kai Tahu, Te Arawa and Ngā Puhi) is currently Manager, Tribal Economies at Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu, supporting the economic ecosystem and wellbeing aspirations of Ngāi Tahu whānui.

A current Council member of SIT, Aimee is a strong advocate for thriving regional communities. With experience in the areas of science, education, the environment and economic development, Aimee serves on a number of governance boards adding value through her community, professional, and academic endeavours.

Aimee is also a small business owner and lives in Bluff with her husband, four children, and extended whānau.

Darren Rewi

Invercargill born, Queenstown-based Darren (Waitaha, Ngāti Māmoe, Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Kahungungu ki te Wairoa) sits on a number of boards representing both community and Iwi, including Executive Trustee for Oraka Aparima Runaka.

He is the Chair of Southern Zone Rugby League and currently the vice Chair of Arts Murihiku and whānau representative on Queenstown Community Hub Trust. He is a Director on a whānau-owned Occupational Health and Health and Safety business operating from Queenstown.

Darren also works in the community as a Whānau Ora Navigator for Alexandra-based Uruuruwhenua Health Services.